INAHOF Newsletter - April 2021 Edition

INAHOF Newsletter

April 2021 Edition

Greetings from the Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame!  We are open for business and will honor our first Class of Honorees at the inaugural Honors Banquet to be held October 1, 2021, at the Ritz Charles in Carmel, Indiana.


A Little About Us

Inspired by the National Aviation Hall of Fame and the Halls of Fame in other states, the Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame, Inc. was established in 2015 as a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization to recognize, honor, and perpetuate the contributions of those special individuals and companies making an enduring contribution to aviation or aerospace in Indiana, the nation, or the world through their achievement, leadership, exceptional service, innovation, or entrepreneurial spirit.
Standing up the Hall of Fame was undertaken in earnest by the Board of Directors began just as the Covid pandemic began. But even with the slowdowns and impediments presented, we can point to many accomplishments for 2020:

  • establishing a virtual presence at,
  • setting the inaugural Honors Banquet for October 1, 2021,
  • accepting nominations for the honorees Class of 2021,
  • naming a Legacy Class of distinguished and notable aviators, pioneers, astronauts, entrepreneurs and industrialists, and
  • fundraising to fulfill the Mission of the INAHOF. 

The work of the INAHOF is ongoing and a labor of love. Besides continuing to recognize and honor worthy individuals, our business plan going forward calls for the expansion of our mission to include an Aviator of the Year; finding and funding a permanent location; and, the development of a scholarship or grant program to encourage aviation growth.


A Message From The Chairman

I am pleased to welcome you to the Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame. The idea for the Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame (INAHOF) blossomed from a desire to honor the men and women who came before us to make indelible and enduring contributions to Indiana aviation and space flight history.

Bringing that original idea to a reality has only been possible through the hard work and dedication of an amazing group of individuals serving as the Board of Directors. Each Director has worked long and hard in that role to make a dream come true. The Board of Directors are:

  • Robert Duncan
  • Richard Norris
  • Bruce Montigney
  • Don Born
  • Dave Newill
  • Captain Zachary J. Grant
  • Captain Jennifer Mullett
  • Captain John Shuttleworth
  • Christopher Gray
  • Bart Giesler
  • Robert (Mitch) Grundman (1946-2017)

The invaluable experience, expertise, and perspective the Directors bring to the table have given life to the mission of the Hall of Fame. of the INAHOF, As President and Chairman, I am personally grateful for the hard work and contributions of each of the Directors and indebted to them for their dedication to the mission of INAHOF.

As with any non-profit organization, INAHOF cannot exist without the support of the aviation community through nominations of worthy individuals and financial support. We need your support. INAHOF is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation that depends on the support and assistance of contributors to tell the stories of Indiana’s aviators, astronauts, entrepreneurs, and industrialists and to honor them for their enduring contributions to Indiana’s rich aviation history.

Your tax-deductible contribution supports the mission of the Hall of Fame. Please join us by becoming a sponsor or contributing directly on or by contacting

Finally, I want to extend a personal invitation to join us in honoring the Inductees of the Class of 2021 at the inaugural Honors Banquet, Friday, October 1, 2021 at the Ritz Charles in Carmel.

J.C. Buehler, Chairman


Sponsorship Opportunities

You can become a sponsor and get tickets to the Honors Banquet as part of the deal! Visit for sponsorship opportunities.  Join us now and lock in your Honors Banquet tickets!


Who We Are

This month we focus our Director and Awards and Banquet Chair, Jenny Mullett.

Jenny is a pilot’s pilot. She was taught to fly at 16 by her father, an international corporate pilot. Her professional aviation career began at Purdue University where she earned a B.S. in Aviation Technology in 1992 and served as Vice President of the professional collegiate aviation fraternity, Alpha Eta Rho.

Her diverse flying career includes earning her Airline Transport Pilot certificate along with Flight Instructor and Flight Engineer certificates. She holds type ratings in CE525S, HS-125, SF340, CE560XL, B757/767, B787 and GIV and has over 10,000 hours flight time. Since 2001, Jenny has been a pilot  with American Airlines flying the B757 and B767. She recently upgraded to captain on the Boeing 787. Prior to American, Jenny served as the Chief Part 141 Flight Instructor for Metro Aviation before advancing into the Part 135 Charter Department eventually being named Chief Pilot. Jenny’s corporate flying career found her operating Hawker 800 and Saab 340 types for Cummins Engine Co. and flying internationally for Eli Lilly and Co. as a Gulfstream G-IV captain.

In her spare time, Jenny stays active as a flight instructor and volunteers at High School Career days to pass along her flying passion and encouragement to aspiring aviators.


Save The Date:  October 1, 2021

On Friday, 1 October 2021, we will gather for the inaugural Honors Banquet at the Ritz Charles in Carmel, Indiana, in the company of distinguished aviators, aviation business leaders, aerospace educators for a very special evening to induct the Class of 2021 to the Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame.

Watch the website for details and tickets.


Legacy Class Enshrined

The Board of Directors determined early on that it was right to honor those Hoosiers previously honored by induction into the National Aviation Hall of Fame, Dayton, Ohio. By unanimous consent the Board of Directors honored and enshrined the Legacy Members into the Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame.

These notable and illustrious individuals are:

  • Wilbur Wright
  • James Allison
  • Harvey Weir Cook
  • Lawrence Bell
  • Frank Borman
  • Virgil “Gus” Grissom
  • Edwin Link
  • Roscoe Turner
  • William “Pete” Knight
  • Abe Silverstein
  • C.E. Woolman

Visit our website at to learn more about the background and enduring contributions of these legacy members.